The legacy of the wolf

Humans have always been fascinated by wolves: in myths, fairy tales and legends the wolf’s character can change between the noble life-giver and the merciless hunter. Venerated and feared, on the one hand the wolf is an enemy and competitor, on the other a selfless creature within the social network of the family.

Humans are fascinated by wolves because we are so similar. The name Domaine La Louvière is inseparably associated with the wolf. In days of old wolves gathered on the foothills of the Pyrenees to watch the countryside and pick up the scent for the hunt. The vineyards of the Domaine now cover these gathering sites for wolves – the Louvière.

Domaine La Louvière

Domaine La Louvière lies at the foot of the Pyrenees about 30 kilometres southwest of the imposing fortress town of Carcassonne in the Malepère region. This harsh and original landscape is characterised by a unique microclimate: alternately pampered by the warm breeze of the Mediterranean and tested by the cool influence of the Atlantic and the Pyrenees, the grapes ripen in climatic tension. The soil here is another special feature of the terroir, responsible for the less than flattering name of Malepère (literally ‘poor stone’): clay, sandstone and limestone as well as large boulders. It ensures a special mineralisation of the vines and has an enormous heat-storage potential – protecting the vines on cool nights. And the stony, hard-to-work land offers another advantage: at Domaine La Louvière we still do real manual work.

associates


“Our team are German, Swiss and French – differing nationalities and horizons, closely affiliated through their love of wine and a shared aim: making the Domaine La Louvière a leader in quality and sustainability.”

Nicolas Grohe, Managing Director

“I love the high quality demands of the Domaine La Louvière and I am convinced that only the very best quality can succeed. For me, wine is much more than just another commodity – it is my passion.”

Thore Könnecke, Sales Manager and Oenologist

AOP Malepère


Between Heaven and Sea

In the last years, the small wine-growing region, Malepère, situated in the thousand year old cultural landscape of the Languedoc-Roussillon, has gained a remarkable reputation. Here are growing several vine varieties, which typically do not like the heat of the Mediterranean coast and prosper particularly well in under climate of the Malepère: Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc, as well as, classic varieties from the Bordeaux region, like Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc und Merlot. The roots of the vines have to fight through the rocky ground, full of the “bad stones” – of the “male pierre” – and this struggle is the reason why our wines are of genuine greatness and elegance.

Efforts, climate and experience

The quality of the Domaine La Louvières wines is already fostered by our work in the vineyards. It includes a careful handling of the vines, the consideration of climatic and natural conditions of the terroir and a consistent decrease of the harvested quantity to maximum 50 hectoliter / hectare. This is how we pull out the full potential of our grapes. Our experienced cellar master is able to press the grapes and create a wine with its own distinct character. For example fruity white wine with residual acid or full-bodied red wines that have ripened in oak barrels and a long-term cellar potential of four to ten years.

Traditional methods and advanced technology

The Domaine La Louvière uses an oak barrel cellar and a stainless steel cellar equipped with state of the art technology. The steel tanks are temperature-controlled and responding to the highest hygienic standards. A careful handling of our precious grapes and our high quality standards are supported by a careful blend of traditional methods and advanced technology.

our full collection



les plaisirs

Fruity white wines with refined residual acid and red wines marked by the terroir and full of character tempt you with classic charm. The harsh climate of the Pyrenees, the vintner’s knowledge and the special properties of the grape varieties come together in our masculine wines.


les tentations

Grapes from selected vineyards are pressed and matured by experienced cellar masters to create excellent wines with a feminine touch and a very special demanding character of their own. Depending on the requirements, the use of barrique barrels or a longer storage period in bottles contributes towards the wines’ characters and give them their very special aesthetic.


les péchés

La Souveraine and L’Empereur: only these two excellent wines are awarded top status in our range and form the ruling pair of the Domaine. These wines are only created in vintages that are particularly suitable. The grapes grow in the best locations and are also subject to strict selection. Maturation in the barrique barrels (made of Allier oak from central French) is carried out with great care and under permanent observation – this is how legends are created.

les plaisirs


Le Libertin

Sauvignon Blanc

Download Infosheet

Le Galant

Chardonnay

Download Infosheet

Le Marquis

Cabernet Franc, Merlot,
Malbec

Download Infosheet

Le Coquin

Merlot

Download Infosheet

Les tentations


La Maîtresse

Cabernet Franc, Merlot
Malbec

Download Infosheet

La Séductrice

Merlot, Cabernet Franc,
Malbec

Download Infosheet

La Muse

Viogner, Chardonnay,
Chenin Blanc

Download Infosheet

les péchés


La Souveraine

Chardonnay

Download Infosheet

L’ Empereur

Merlot, Cabernet Franc,
Malbec

Download Infosheet

Les perles


Brut

Crémant de Limoux

Download Infosheet

Rosé

Crémant de Limoux

Download Infosheet

AOC

Blanquette de Limoux

Download Infosheet

Das Erbe der Wölfe

Seit jeher ist der Mensch fasziniert vom Wolf: In Mythen, Märchen und Legenden changiert sein Charakter zwischen dem edlen Lebensspender und dem erbarmungslosen Jäger. Bewundert, verehrt und gefürchtet, ist der Wolf einerseits Feind und Konkurrent, andererseits eine aufopferungsvolle Kreatur im sozialen Verbund der Familie.

Der Mensch ist fasziniert vom Wolf, weil er ihm ähnelt. Der Name der Domaine La Louvière ist untrennbar mit dem Wolf verbunden. In alten Zeiten versammelten sich die Wölfe auf den Hügeln am Fuße der Pyrenäen, um das Land zu überblicken und Witterung für die Jagd aufzunehmen. An diesem Wolfsplatz – der „Louvière“ – erstrecken sich heute die Weinreben der Domaine.

Die Domaine La Louvière

Die Domaine La Louvière liegt am Fuße der Pyrenäen etwa 30 Kilometer südwestlich der imposanten Festungsstadt Carcassonne in der Region Malepère. Diese noch heute raue und ursprüngliche Landschaft ist geprägt von einem einzigartigen Mikroklima: Abwechselnd verwöhnt von der warmen Brise des Mittelmeeres und geprüft von kühleren Einflüssen des Atlantiks und der Pyrenäen, reifen die Trauben in einem klimatischen Spannungsfeld heran. Eine weitere Besonderheit des „Terroir“ ist der Boden, der für den wenig schmeichelhaften Namen des Malepère („schlechter Stein“) verantwortlich ist: Lehm, Sand- und Kalkstein sowie große, felsartige Gesteinsbrocken sorgen für eine besondere Mineralisierung der Weinstöcke und besitzen ein enormes Wärme­speicher­potenzial – so sind die Reben auch in kühlen Nächten geschützt. Und das steinige, schwer zu bearbeitende Terrain hat noch einen Vorteil: Auf der Domaine La Louvière setzen wir nach wie vor auf echte Handarbeit.

Menschen


„Unser Team besteht aus Deutschen, Schweizern und Franzosen - verschiedene Nationalitäten und Horizonte, end verbunden durch die Liebe zum Wein und ein gemeinsames Ziel: die Domaine La Louvière zu einem Vorreiter in Sachen Qualität und Nachhaltigkeit zu machen.“

Nicolas Grohe, Geschäftsführer

„Ich lebe den hohen Qualitätsanspruch der Domaine La Louvière und bin überzeugt, dass sich nur höchste Qualität wirklich durchsetzen kann. Für mich ist Wein weit mehr als nur eine Handelsware – er ist meine Leidenschaft.“

Thore Könnecke, Verkaufsleiter und Önologe

AOP Malepère


Zwischen Himmel und Meer

Das kleine Weinanbaugebiet der Malepère in der jahrtausendealten Kulturlandschaft des Languedoc-Roussillion macht in den letzten Jahren immer häufiger von sich reden. Denn hier gedeien Rebsorten, denen es an den sonnenverbrannten Mittelmeerküsten zu heiß ist: Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc sowie die klassischen Gewächse des Bordelais – Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc und Merlot. Auf den „schlechten Steinen“, auf den „male pierre“, müssen die Reben um Nährstoffe und Wasser kämpfen, bringen dafür aber umso hervorragendere Weine hervor. Weine von wahrer Größe und Eleganz.

Fleiss, gutes Wetter und viel Erfahrung

Die Qualität der Domaine La Louvière-Weine fördern die Winzer bereits durch die Arbeit im Weinberg. Dazu gehören vor allem der schonende Umgang mit den Weinreben, die Rücksichtnahme auf die klimatischen und natürlichen Gegebenheiten des Terroirs sowie eine konsequente Ertragsreduzierung auf maximal 50 Hektoliter je Hektar. So reifen Trauben, die der erfahrene Kellermeister zu hervorragenden Weinen mit ganz eigenem Charakter keltert und ausbaut. Z.B. fruchtige Weißweine mit raffinierter Restsäure und körperreiche, im Eichenfass gereifte Rotweine mit einem Lagerpotential von vier bis zehn Jahren.

Traditionelle Verfahren und neueste Technik

Neben einem klassischen unterirdischen Keller für unsere Barriquefässer steht auf der Domaine ein weiterer Keller mit modernster Technik ausgestattet. Die hiesigen Edelstahltanks sind temperaturkontrolliert und auf dem höchsten Hygienestandard. Der sorgsame Umgang mit den wertvollen Rohstoffen sowie die Einhaltung unserer hohen Qualitätsansprüche werden durch die gesunde Melange aus traditionellen Verfahren und moderner Technologie unterstützt.

la collection complète



Les Plaisirs

Fruchtige Weißweine mit raffinierter Restsäure und terroirgeprägte, charaktervolle Rotweine verführen Sie auf charmant klassische Weise. In unseren maskulinen Weinen vereinigt sich das raue Klima der Pyrenäen, das Können des Winzers und die besonderen Eigenschaften der Rebsorte. Bis auf den Rosé Cuvée „Le Marquis“ finden sich in dieser Kategorie nur reinsortige Weine.


Les Tentations

Trauben aus ausgesuchten Weinbergslagen werden vom erfahrenen Kellermeister zu hervorragenden, feminin anmutenden Weinen mit einem ganz eigenen, fordernden Charakter gekeltert und ausgebaut. Je nach Anspruch prägen der Einsatz von Barriquefässern oder eine längere Flaschenlagerung die Weine und entwickeln dabei eine ganz eigene Ästhetik und individuelle Ausprägung.


Les Péchés

La Souveraine und L’Empereur: Diese zwei exzellenten Weine bilden das Herrscherpaar der Domaine und entstehen nur in besonderen Jahrgängen und in geringer Stückzahl. Sie wachsen in den besten Lagen und besitzen ein enormes Reifepotential, das mit höchster Sorgfalt und Expertise in Barriquefässern aus der zentral-französischen Allier-Eiche ausgebaut wird – so entstehen Legenden.

Les Plaisirs


Le Libertin

Sauvignon Blanc

Download Infosheet

Le Galant

Chardonnay

Download Infosheet

Le Marquis

Cabernet Franc, Merlot,
Malbec

Download Infosheet

Le Coquin

Merlot

Download Infosheet

Les tentations


La Maîtresse

Cabernet Franc, Merlot
Malbec

Download Infosheet

La Séductrice

Merlot, Cabernet Franc,
Malbec

Download Infosheet

La Muse

Viogner, Chardonnay,
Chenin Blanc

Download Infosheet

Les Péchés


La Souveraine

Chardonnay

Download Infosheet

L’ Empereur

Merlot, Cabernet Franc,
Malbec

Download Infosheet

Les perles


Brut

Crémant de Limoux

Download Infosheet

Rosé

Crémant de Limoux

Download Infosheet

AOC

Blanquette de Limoux

Download Infosheet